N’Golo Kante has once again been named the ‘Football Writers Association’ Footballer of the Year adding to the PFA Player of the Year award he got last month.

The French midfielder, who has been an integral part of Antonio Conte’s squad success at the top of the table this season, topped the poll of the 340-agile membership with Blues teammate Eden hazard in second place and Tottenham’s Dele Alli in third place

The Blues duo took over 65 per cent of the Journalists’ votes the total of which was sheared among a record number of 17 different players.

Kante was instrumental  in Leicester City’s title win last season and after his £32million summer transfer to Stamford Bridge, the midfielder looks to be on his way to claiming another league silverware for the second time in a row with just two more fixture before the season comes to an end.

The 26-year old will be presented with the prestigious FWA award, whose history dates back to 1948, at a gala dinner in London on May 18 when the association celebrates its 70th anniversary.

“It is a fantastic honour to win this award. With so many great players in this Chelsea squad and in the Premier League, for the Football Writers’ Association of this country to name me as their Footballer of the Year is a very proud moment in my career,” said Kante, who was last month awarded the Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year trophy.

Four other Chelsea players were nominated for the award, with David Luiz, Diego Costa and Cesar Azpilicueta also getting some votes.

FWA chairman Paddy Barclay commended Kante’s effort in Antonio Conte’s team this season.

“N’Golo Kante could not be a more deserving winner of English football’s most prestigious individual award,” he said.

“In the view of some FWA members, he would have been a worthy recipient last season for his contribution to Leicester’s title success, but the almost unbroken excellent form of Chelsea since he changed clubs has left little room for further debate.

“Considering the competition of Eden Hazard and others from Chelsea in particular, this is a great achievement.”

Kante is the fourth player from Stamford Bridge to win the accolade. The likes of Gianfranco Zola, Frank Lampard and Eden Hazard have previously been honoured with the award.